Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

July 30, 2024

The Honorable Tom Vilsack Secretary U.S. Department of Agriculture 1400 Independence Ave., S.W. Washington, D.C. 20250

Re: Poultry Grower Payment Systems and Capital Improvement Systems; Proposed Rule; RIN 0581-AE18; 89 Fed. Reg. 49002 (June 10, 2024); Fair and Competitive Livestock and Poultry Markets; Proposed Rule; RIN 0581-AE04; 89 Fed. Reg. 53886 (June 28, 2024).

Dear Secretary Vilsack,

As members with an interest in the affordability, availability, and quality of meat and poultry products, we respectfully request that the U.S. Department of Agriculture's (USDA) Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) grant a 180-day extension of the comment period for the above-referenced proposed rules. For the reasons below, we believe such an extension is warranted.

In addition to the industry having re-adjusted thousands of contracts with farmers over the Christmas holiday, the breadth of new requirements outlined in the proposed rules and their impacts on how integrators and contract farmers interact warrant careful scrutiny, analysis, and the submission of comprehensive comments. To that end, it is critical that additional time be allotted to the affected integrators and producers so that they may provide the most informed and substantive comments possible.

For the above-referenced reasons, we respectfully request that the comment period for the proposed rule entitled "Poultry Grower Payment Systems and Capital Improvement Systems" be extended by 180 days so that it closes on February 5, 2025. Additionally, we request that the comment period for the proposed rule entitled "Fair and Competitive Livestock and Poultry Markets" be extended by 180 days so that it closes on March 10, 2025. Noting that the USDA has extended the comment period on this rule for an additional 15 days, we continue to request that the comment period be extended by 180 days from the updated published date.

Thank you for your consideration. If you need further information, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Steve Womack

Member of Congress

Jim Costa

Member of Congress

David G. Valadao Member of Congress

Russell Fry

Member of Congress

Keith Self

Member of Congress

James Comer

Member of Congress

Andy Harris, M.D.

Member of Congress

Andrew S. Clyde

Member of Congress

David Kustoff
Member of Congress

Wiley Nickel

Member of Congress

Donald G. Davis Member of Congress

Rick W. Allen

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Ronny L. Jackson Member of Congress

Trent Kelly

Member of Congress

Mike Fløod

Member of Congress

Thench Hu

French Hill

Member of Congress

Lori Chavez-DeRemer Member of Congress

Mike Ezell

Momber of Co

Member of Congress

Ben Cline

Member of Congress

Austin Scott

Member of Congress

Dusty Johnson Member of Congress

Kevin Hern

Member of Congress

Tracey Mann

Member of Congress

Glenn "GT" Thompson Member of Congress

James R. Baird, PhD Member of Congress

Michael Guest Member of Congress

Mark Alford

Member of Congress

Barry Moore

Member of Congress

immy Panetta

Member of Congress

C. Scott Franklin
Member of Congress

Richard Hudson Member of Congress

Robert B. Aderholt Member of Congress

Dan Meuser Member of Congress

Charles J. "Chuck" Fleischmann Member of Congress

Earl I Bully Carte

Noutraniel Moran

Earl L. "Buddy" Carter Member of Congress

Nathaniel Moran Member of Congress John S. Duarte

Member of Congress

Doug LaMalfa

Member of Congress

Brad Finstad

Member of Congress

Christopher H. Smith

Member of Congress

Guy Reschenthaler

Member of Congress

Daniel Webster

Member of Congress

Frank D. Lucas Member of Congress Dan Newhouse Member of Congress

Julia Letlow, Ph.D. Member of Congress

Pavid J. Trone Member of Congress

Larry Bugshon, M.D. Member of Congress

Russ Fulcher
Member of Congress

Dan Bishop

Member of Congress

David Rouzer
Member of Congress

Harold Rogers
Member of Congress

W. Gregory Steube Member of Congress

Michael K. Simpson Member of Congress

Bruce Westerman Member of Congress

KEN CALVERT
Member of Congress

Adrian Smith
Member of Congress

Eric A. "Rick" Crawford Member of Congress Gregory T. Murphy, M.D.
Member of Congress

Kay Granger
Member of Cor

Member of Congress

Michelle Fischbach Member of Congress

Darin LaHood

Member of Congress

Ralph Norman / Member of Congress

Ashley Hinson Member of Congress

Mariannette Miller-Meeks, M.D.
Member of Congress

Virgina Foxx Member of Congress

Lance Gooden Member of Congress

Vicente Gonzalez Member of Congress

Greg Pence Member of Congress

A. Drew Ferguson IV Member of Congress

whn R. Moolenaar Member of Congress

Randy Feenstra
Member of Congress

Pete Stauber

Member of Congress

Sharice L. Davids

Member of Congress

Pete Sessions

Member of Congress

Salud Carbajal

Member of Congress

Zach Munn

Member of Congress

Jake LaTurner
Member of Congress

Diana Harshbarger Member of Congress

Ron Estes

Member of Congress

Barry Loudermilk

Member of Congress

Cc: S. Brett Offutt, Chief Legal Officer and Policy Advisor, Packers and Stockyards Division, USDA Agricultural Marketing Service Fair Trade Practices Program

Andrew Green, Senior Advisor, Fair and Competitive Markets

Michael Durando, Deputy Administrator, USDA Agricultural Marketing Service Fair Trade Practices Program