The International Poultry Welfare Alliance (IPWA) on Monday announced new leadership for the organization and membership approved the 2020-2023 IPWA Strategic Plan.

Andrew Gomer (Nova-Tech Engineering) will replace Kate Barger-Weathers (Cobb-Vantress) as chairperson for 2021. Ken Opengart (Tyson Foods) will serve as vice chairperson. Angela Baysinger (Merck) was elected secretary. Bernie Beckman (Hy-Line North America) was elected director-at-large.

New representatives to the board of directors include Ken Martin (Fieldale Farms) as the Live Production – Broilers representative; Mohamed Mousa (Herbruck’s Poultry Ranch) as the Live Production – Eggs representative; Aaron Stephan (Once) as the Supplier – Equipment representative; Jon Hixson (Yum! Brands) as the Foodservice representative. Committee chairs include Richard Griffiths (British Poultry Council) as Communications Committee chair; Janet Helms (Ikea) as the Membership Growth and Engagement Committee chair; Darrell Stoner (Elanco) as Poultry Health and Welfare Committee chair; and Nick Wolfenden (Cargill) as Education Committee chair.

Members also approved the 2020-2023 strategic plan, which outlines the goals and initiatives for the Alliance in the next three years.