The Council for Agricultural Science and Technology (CAST) and the Agricultural and Applied Economics Association this week released a paper that examines the many economic factors and impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic, with a focus on the agriculture sector, according to a CAST press release.

In efforts to slow down the spread of COVID-19, many states and countries shut down several economic areas such as tourism and entertainment venues, restaurants, personal services, and some manufacturing facilities. This has led many areas into a recession. The authors of this paper examine the effects this recession has on these topics: macroeconomics; trade; supply chain; consumer behavior; food service/grocery; meat processing; forestry and wood products; local food systems; food waste; food insecurity; major commodity crops; agricultural finance; agricultural labor; rural health care; and research and outreach priorities.

Task force authors are:

  • Jayson Lusk (chair), Purdue University and AAEA past president
  • John D. Anderson (chair), University of Arkansas
  • Diane Charlton, Montana State University
  • Keith Coble, Mississippi State University and AAEA president
  • Alison Davis, University of Kentucky
  • Adam Dewey, Feeding America
  • Jeffrey H. Dorfman, University of Georgia
  • Brenna Ellison, University of Illinois
  • Emily Engelhard, Feeding America
  • Allen M. Featherstone, Kansas State University
  • Jason Grant, Virginia Tech
  • Craig Gundersen, University of Illinois
  • Monica Hake, Feeding America
  • Todd Hubbs, University of Illinois
  • Scott Irwin, University of Illinois
  • Ananth Iyer, Purdue University
  • Sarah A. Low, University of Missouri
  • Trey Malone, Michigan State University
  • Josh Maples, Mississippi State University
  • Jill J. McCluskey, Washington State University and AAEA past president
  • Brandon McFadden, University of Delaware
  • Rodolfo M. Nayga, Jr., University of Arkansas
  • Timothy J. Richards, Arizona State University
  • Bradley J. Rickard, Cornell University
  • Lee Schulz, Iowa State University
  • Ian Sheldon, Ohio State University
  • Shaun M. Tanger, Mississippi State University
  • Dawn Thilmany McFadden, Colorado State University
  • Glynn Tonsor, Kansas State University
  • Norbert Wilson, Tufts University
  • David Zilberman, University of California, Berkeley and AAEA past president

The paper is available to download on the CAST website by clicking here.