Michael Helgeson, National Chicken Council chairman of the board, has announced the names of those industry representatives who will serve on NCC’s 2014 Environmental, Human Resource, and Poultry Health Committees.

Mike Klun, Cargill, will chair the environmental committee. Klun was named by the National Turkey Federation this year as this committee operates jointly with the environmental committees of NCC and U.S. Poultry and Egg Association. Jeff Garrett with Norbest Turkey, appointed by USPOULTRY this year, will head up the Human Resource Committee.  (This committee is part of the Joint Poultry Industry Human Resource Council, along with the human resource committees of  NCC and NTF).  Also, Dr. David Shapiro, director of veterinary services, Perdue Farms, will serve as chairman of the Poultry Health Committee.

Additionally, O. K. Foods has appointed Chuck Bloch to the Communications Committee, Karen Christensen to the Growout Committee, and Shane Calhoun to the Technical & Regulatory Committee. These committees had been announced in previous additions of  The Washington Report.

Environmental Committee

Mike Klun (Chairman), Cargill; Jim Britton, O. K. Foods; Russ Dickson, Wayne Farms; Joe Earney, Simmons Foods; Brenda Flick, Sanderson Farms; Eric Lindemann, Fieldale Farms; Jim Marnatti, Foster Farms; Mark Page, GNP Company; Steve Patrick, Tyson Foods; Steve Schwalb, Perdue Farms; Beth Sise, Mountaire Farms; Gregg Smith, George’s; Dave Townsend, Pilgrim’s; John Weeks, Mar-Jac Poultry; and Fred West, Amick Processing.

Human Resource Committee

Jeff Garrett (Chairman), Norbest Turkey; Jonathan Allen, Fieldale Farms; Glen Balch, George’s; Mark Bland, Claxton Poultry; Peggy Brown, GNP Company; Jennifer Buster, Sanderson Farms; Steve Conley, Peco Foods; Mark Fisher, B & B Poultry; Kerry Garman, Perdue Farms; Hector Gonzalez, Tyson Foods; Sarah Hendricks, Keystone Foods; Dan Houston, Simmons Foods; D. Lauderdale, Jackson Lewis; David Malfitano, Wayne Farms; Terri Middlebrooks, Mar-Jac Poultry; Doug Schult, Pilgrim’s; Christine Terry, O. K. Industries; Patrick Townsend, Mountaire Corporation; Tim Walsh, Foster Farms; Fred West, Amick Processing; James Wimberly, Wimberly, Lawson, Steckel, Schneider & Stine; and Devin Wood, Harrison Poultry.

Poultry Health Committee

David Shapiro (Chairman), Perdue Farms; Mark Burleson, Wayne Farms; Travis Cigainero, Pilgrim’s; Charles Corsiglia, Foster Farms; Jim Dawe, Claxton Poultry; Kurt Dobson, Simmons Foods; Charlie Howington, Mar-Jac Poultry; Deirdre Johnson, GNP Company; Steve McCarter, Tyson Foods; Ken Opengart, Keystone Foods; Bret Rings, Cobb-Vantress; John Smith, Fieldale Farms; Phil Stayer, Sanderson Farms; and Scott Westall, Case Foods.