Representative Frank Lucas (R-OK), chairman of the House Agriculture Committee, named this week five members to serve as subcommittee chairmen for the 113th Congress.

Chairman Lucas designated the following subcommittee chairmen and their jurisdictions:

  • Rep. Steve King (R-IA):  Department Operations, Oversight, and Nutrition jurisdiction:  Agency oversight, review and analysis, special investigations, food stamps, nutrition, and consumer programs.
  • Rep. K. Michael Conaway, (R-TX):  General Farm Commodities and Risk Management jurisdiction:  Programs and markets related to cotton; cottonseed; wheat; feed grains; soybeans; oilseeds; rice; dry beans; peas; lentils; the Commodity Credit Corporation; risk management, including crop insurance, commodity exchanges, and specialty crops.
  • Rep. Glenn “GT” Thompson (R-PA):  Conservation, Energy, and Forestry jurisdiction:  Soil, water, and resource conservation; small watershed program; energy and bio-based energy production; rural electrification; forestry in general and forest reserves other than those created from the public domain.
  • Rep. Austin Scott (R-GA):  Horticulture, Research, Biotechnology, and Foreign Agriculture jurisdiction:  Fruits and vegetables; honey and bees; marketing and promotion orders; plant pesticides; quarantine; adulteration of seeds and insect pests; and organic agriculture, research, education, and extension biotechnology, and foreign agriculture assistance; and trade promotion programs, generally.
  • Rep. Rick Crawford (R-AR):  Livestock, Rural Development, and Credit jurisdiction: Livestock, dairy, poultry, meat, seafood and seafood products, inspection, marketing, and promotion of such commodities, aquaculture, animal welfare and grazing, rural development, farm security and family farming matters, and agricultural credit.